VGMA “Artiste of the Year” winners from 1999 – 2023

VGMA “Artiste of the Year” winners from 1999-2020

VGMA “Artiste of the Year” winners from 1999 – 2023

The Ghana Music Awards has been in existence for the past 21 years. The award scheme was launched in 1999 by Charterhouse Productions. The very first awards event was organized in 1999 and it came off each and every year up to this year 2020.

The very award category that is valued by most musicians is the Artiste of the Year award. It is the biggest award of the night giving whoever wins it the bragging right to hit his or her chest that he’s the best among the best in the year under review.

CHECK THIS OUT: Download Shatta Wale – Who Tell You ? (Prod. By 10 Minutes)

This category has been dominated by male musicians. However, this jinx was broken by Rufftown Records former signee Ebony Reigns who won the awards posthumously after her death on February 8, 2018.

Below are the winners of the Artiste of the Year category of the Ghana Music Awards from 1999-2020.

  • 1999-Akyeame (Quophi Okyeame and Okyeame Kwame)
  • 2000-Daddy Lumba
  • 2001-Kojo Antwi
  • 2002-Lord Kenya
  • 2003-Kontihene
  • 2004-VVIP
  • 2005-Obour
  • 2006-Ofori Amponsah
  • 2007-Samini
  • 2008-Kwaw Kese
  • 2009-Okyeame Kwame
  • 2010-Sarkodie
  • 2011-VVIP
  • 2012-Sarkodie
  • 2013-R2Bees
  • 2014-Shatta Wale
  • 2015-Stonebwoy
  • 2016-EL
  • 2017-Joe Mettle
  • 2018-Ebony
  • 2019 – Annulled (because of the fracas that happened between Shatta Wale and Stonebwoy on that very night. This made Ebony to reign for 2 years an Artiste of the Year.)
  • 2020 – Kuami Eugene
  • 2021 – Diana Hamilton
  • 2022 – Kidi
  • 2023 – Black Sherif